Botez Sisters: Chess, Streaming, and Fame | Lex Fridman Podcast #319
srUlKNLZTas • 2022-09-09
Transcript preview
Open
Kind: captions Language: en i mean i've definitely experienced moments where i didn't want to do anything but chess i also say that's pretty universal i think if you want to be that the best at anything you do or any sport you have to be that level of obsessed the following is a conversation with alexander and andrea botez they're sisters professional chess players commentators educators entertainers and streamers their channel is called botezlive on twitch and youtube i highly recommend you check it out a small side note about the currently ongoing controversy in the chess world where the 19 year old grandmaster hans niemann beat magnus carlson at the sinkfield cup after this magnus for the first time ever withdrew from the tournament implying with a tweet that there may have been cheating or at least something shady going on folks like the grandmaster hikaru nakamura fanned the flames of cheating accusations and the internet made a bunch of proposals on how the cheating could have been done and it ranged from the ridiculous to the hilarious often both hans himself came out and said that he has cheated before when he was 12 and 16 on random online games to jack up his rating but he said that he has never cheated in person over the board danny wrench from chess.com who i've spoken with may make a statement in response to hanza's claims soon folks like grandmaster yakabuga spoke to his experience training hans neiman and has said that his memory and intuition were quite brilliant so as you see there's a lot of perspectives on this chess base has a good summary of the saga that i'll link in the description also note that this is so quickly moving that new stuff might come out between me recording this and publishing the episode but i thought i'd mention this anyway since the episode with the beautiful sisters is a conversation about chess and was recorded shortly before the controversy so we didn't talk about it i'm considering having hans on this podcast and also magnus back on the podcast and maybe others like hikaru or folks from chess.com's anti-cheat staff to discuss their really interesting cheating detection algorithms but i may also just stay out of it i find just to be a beautiful game and the chess community full of fascinating brilliant people and so i'll keep having conversations like these about chess it's fun my goal with this podcast and in general as a human being is to increase the amount of love in the world sometimes that involves celebrating brilliance and beauty in science in art in chess sometimes it involves empathetic conversations with controversial figures that seek to understand not deride sometimes it involves standing against the internet lynch mob as the chess-based article calls it to hear the story of a human being who is under attack even if it means i get attacked in the process as well this is the lex friedman podcast to support it please check out our sponsors in the description and now dear friends here's alexandra and andrea botez you just got back from italy what's the most memorable thing i was just there recently as well it was very chaotic because we went out on a whim and we only had our first hotel book and then we rented a car and drove around all of the cities and went to like five different cities in about a week and a bit um so i think it was just the variety of seeing so many different places when we're used to being at home all the time and andrea is yours your luggage yeah i would say it was the most stressful vacation we've been in in our life and it was a valuable learning lesson because now i know how to be prepared for trips um but we lost our bags and i never got him back and like alex said we didn't know where we'd be sleeping every night and we're just driving through a new city um with a giant van in the most narrowest streets with and getting in many many fights with italian men um so it wasn't really a vacation i saw this motion so many times wasn't it liberating to lose your baggage is it like a silver lining it was liberating my entire life i've always had the issue of over packing and i told her for the trip andrea you're gonna pack light right yeah alex yeah and then i see her stuffing her over you did the same we both had giant big extra baggage that we didn't need and i'm actually very glad we lost it because for venice hauling that around on all the boats and through the tiny streets and there's no ubers and now it's the first time where i can travel without checking in a bag which i've never done before so now i've learned what it means to pack light because i saw that i could survive off of just my this sounds very dramatic but it was really a big learning lesson for me the driving must have been crazy because driving in italy is rough the driving was crazy i did most of it and it would be really interesting driving through places like florence or even through uh the beach areas that were super windy because they're two-way streets that should really only be one way so you'd be driving this huge van and then another car comes on a cliff and you're just waiting for it to slowly pass so it took all of my focus and concentration to drive well in italy but it was actually really relaxing because the hardest thing about uh making a lot of videos online is you're always thinking about it what's coming next and when we were in italy it was so chaotic that i did not think about work for a good week and a bit oh cause you're just we were stressed i was just trying to keep us alive higher priority and that was kind of fun it was kind of fun no planning nothing i wouldn't recommend it or ever do that again but it sounds sounds pretty awesome and we even randomly ran into two friends of ours who were in the same city and we just traveled with them for about half of the trip yeah so you just took on the chaos exactly it was an adventure okay and i see like because you were using your hands a lot you gotten you you picked up some of the the italian hand gestures i did we did get yelled at by a lot of italians the old italian grandmas would come to us after breakfast because we'd leave something on the plate and she'd be like you could feed an entire village with that tell your friends and we'd be we'd feel so ash yeah we got cursed out a lot but it really reminded me of where we grew up and how true yeah bring back those where'd you grow up oh we were romanian but it was like an immigrant neighborhood um so you know same if you don't finish your plate that's disrespectful to the people who made the food how's the food in italy i feel like uh the carbs thing is too much very yeah i think very overrated in my opinion so i'm actually not supposed to eat gluten because i have an allergy yeah but i was in italy and it's you know gluten galore so i was actually eating a lot of it and it was very interesting because i didn't get sick while i was in italy but i do while i'm in the u.s so somehow the food was actually maybe more okay for me to digest which i appreciated but i didn't like it as much as i thought did you like the food there yeah no it's uh i did i did i love cars but it's um it's it feels like vegas when when i go there for the food it's like if i stay here too long i'm gonna do things i regret that's what it feels like with the food right i don't know how to moderate and everybody is pushing very large portions and wild kind of eating things on you uh pasta pizza and it's so good and bread so delicious so yeah i i love it but i regret everything so it's like i don't want to i don't want to go to a place where um i'm going to regret everything i do for too long of a time yeah surprisingly the people there though are still very fit and everyone stays in good shape but that's probably because you're walking around all day and you're much more active than anything and they also just know how to moderate food i think i got used to the u.s way of eating the u.s porsche what is that just a lot never always a lot yeah and more and i feel in the u.s food advertisements are also much more in your face and you're more often reminded of junk food than we were in italy so even though you're eating less healthy things i think we're getting cravings and being pushed towards junk food less often all right i got to ask you a hard question uh so the romance languages so i think french is up there as like number one number one in terms of i don't know this was ranking them oh you guys speak italian or no not italian but we studied french and spanish in school and romanian i feel like every country calls their language a romance like no but it's romanian french spanish portuguese um and i think there was one more that was like this dialect but those are considered the romance languages okay so where would you put italian i think we got yelled at i'm so it's on the bottom of the list because people did not use it nicely but i always really liked how french sounds um i i think something about it where maybe spanish actually sounds nicer to the ears but french has more character and it feels more sultry so i like french that was my answer too oh sultry okay yeah i feel like uh french well in france i feel like i'm always being judged like they're better than me that's what friends they are better yeah this is so true uh which is why you know yeah i long to belong to that i like the british accent the british really yeah actually one thing we did on our italian trip is we just picked up british accents for the entire trip for fun and we forgot we were doing them to the point where we talked to british people and they just ask us why are you talking like that i just couldn't stop i i did feel much more elegant and mature true people like you know i don't know if they felt the same way about us but it was more of you know the confidence you do feel like you're more poised for sure yeah so how'd you guys get into chess when when did you first let's say when did you first fall in love with chess so we both started playing when we were pretty young around six years old that's when our dad taught us and i enjoyed playing chess because i had good results early on but a lot of it was being pushed from my dad to play chess and i only really started loving it when we moved from canada and we started moving a lot and chess was the one stable thing that i had and it was also where all my uh friends were so it was kind of that foundational thing for me and that's when i started studying chess very intensely and when i started putting in the hours out of my own will not because i was being pushed by my dad that's when i started really loving it and i even wanted to take time off college to just focus on chess so training and competing training and competing yeah it was when i was doing it for myself that i started getting my best results and actually enjoying the thing and really enjoying it yeah i would spend summer vacation studying for tournaments and my mom would come and say you need to make friends go leave the house and i'd be like no i need to play chess and i i remember those moments that you rebelled by playing chess yeah exactly how did you get into it yeah my my experience with loving in high school is very opposite from alex's but right my sister was playing and my dad taught me when i was andrea was cool in high school unlike me you are uh i i wouldn't say cool i'd save more balance and i was interested in other hobbies in my childhood if i ever really did love chess there's certainly moments about like traveling and being together with my family and spending those moments together but those are more the social and the experiences but funny enough like i think my happiest moment where i really played the game for my own enjoyment was probably my most recent tournament because this was after obviously we've been streaming and i'm no longer in high school but when i was in school i was always playing for college and for the results trying to build a resume so i was too stressed out about the pressure to really enjoy the game whereas when i just played my first tournament so it was like after like a two-year break because of the pandemic um and it was also all live on twitch so there was some pressure but it was the first time that like i was really eager to study for the game sitting and focusing since we've been streaming and not getting distracted by something else in years like i said and the tournament experience i hit my highest rating and it was my best tournament ever and i think most of that is because it came from my own enjoyment so you didn't enjoy the domination because i think you like did really well right this is like a couple months ago uh oh yeah yeah the tournament well of course i think the results came from enjoying the tournament because i would be in high school like studying double triple the amount of time like six hours every day compared to this tournament i didn't even prepare for it and for three years i wouldn't be able to pass one rating whereas in this one term and i passed it by like 70 points without even any preparation so it was i think as soon as you stop worrying about the competitions when the games get much better what does it mean to pass a rating so i was stuck at 1900. 1900 is 100 points off of expert yeah usually when you reach 2000 you're considered an expert which is the rating andre i was going for okay expert that's the technical term or this like it's more of a colloquial term where if somebody's around a 2000 you're playing them in a tournament they won't have the actual title next to their name but you say i'm playing an expert what about like the the more official things like master that have to do with the ratings yeah so national master in the us is when you're 2200. okay and what's international master international master is based off of a different system the fide system which is international to be an international master it's 2400 and you have to have three international master norms yeah i think magnus said he's uh 28 6 something that was yeah and then he said uh that's pretty decent no well he always uh but the thing is i think what he meant is that's a decent rating because it accurately captures his actual level so it's uh it's not over inflated or underinflated and so on and so the discussion there was how do you get can a human being get to 2900 and then he says because my current rating is pretty decent representing my skill level it's gonna be a long road to actually get there right because it's like so you have to beat people your same level that's how the number increases exactly yeah and you beat a bunch of people in the tournament right that are higher than that very lucky oh i was playing i was really nervous because my category was like 200 points above my rating and of course i was very rusty and i hadn't played a tournament in a while but it went pretty well do you feel the pressure when you're actually recording it like the streaming it was definitely so before every round i was vlogging and i was doing meet and greets and doing other things for them that's how you do a meet and greet you didn't know what the hell you're doing is great yeah like where am i how do i do this yeah i see what do i do it was actually really wholesome the beginning was um very silly because i was just not expecting that it was going to be more of a seminar i thought it was like oh you pose and take pictures but they actually asked really nice meaningful questions but unfortunately it's bad for youtube retention and we cut them all out so bad for you the good long-form conversation so it was like questions q a type of thing exactly you have to have very fast pace for youtube and um that seminar was not fast-paced okay well not everything in life needs to be on youtube right there's like two parallel things stuff that's fun for youtube yes and one day we'll post that q a one yeah when you guys like when you become like ultra famous you're currently just regular famous q and a slow content yes and that the youtube aspect the creation aspect does that add to the fun ultimately how's the chess of like your love of chess oh for the love of chess in general or just for competing in that one tournament no love with just in general i i think you said that for competing for that tournament was adding pressure yeah but actually i would say like a good pressure but yeah this is where i differed to alex because um when i was just competitive and i was younger i don't think i loved chess as much as when i started doing it for content because unlike her a lot of her friends and social circle other chess players i never really traveled and built really solid friendships through chess until i started streaming and meeting other chess streamers and actually playing and talking to people for fun rather than just always being alone in the game and never really meeting other people my age or people with similar interests so i would say twitch was the thing that really changed how i approached the game i think with uh with some youtubers there's a pressure to be almost somebody else you create a persona and you're stuck in that persona i think um i'm too i'm too much of a boomer to know what the hell twitch is anyway but the it feels like when you're actually live streaming you can't help but be who you really are i think it's oh well i think when you're live streaming and i've talked to a lot of other streamers about this you kind of just over exaggerate one side of your personality and of course it's kind of like being like on all the time like you're trying to be more entertaining and sometimes you're being sillier at moments or more you take what character traits like people know you for and for me one is being like adhd and the younger sibling who's very energetic and causes trouble even though yeah i'm sure you caused trouble just for the camera yeah right i think yeah i think and of course once you're live streaming for like four or five hours there's gonna be moments in the stream where it's more chill but especially when you're like editing that content or you're doing bigger streams that are shorter you are kind of playing up a side of yourself because of course there's a lot of parts of me that i don't show to the camera because they're not as entertaining to watch like the more serious part and also there's things that you are really interested in about what you do like i love competitive chess where i could sit and really think about it but i know that that is not going to be as entertaining for stream i know that's not going to be as entertaining for youtube so you kind of have to take what you like but then really adapt it for whatever the format is and sometimes that feels inauthentic uh but other times it just feels like repackaging what you love for people in a more general audience to enjoy do you feel like it's a trap a little bit as you evolve like uh oh i think social media oh sorry go ahead social media in general is a trap of that of that kind well so we've been trying to switch to learn how to make youtube videos recently and so much of learning youtube school is kind of the beastification of content where you try to get to the point of the video within like the first 10 seconds to not lose people you try to take it you mean like mr beast yeah okay yeah where it's so fast-paced there's a reason to wait there's high stakes and everything is created to keep people watching the video and keep people on the platform and in some ways it is a trap because it's harder to do the kind of content you like because you really have to squeeze it to be like okay well do we have a good thumbnail for this do we have a good title for this um and that's something that we're trying to figure out how to keep true to what we want to do yeah see the way i think about it is yeah there's a lot of stuff you can create and yeah the mr bestification process but also i think about what are the videos conversations or things i will create in this life that will be the best thing i do and um i try not to do things in my life that will prevent me from getting there i feel like if you're always focusing on um doing kind of the optimizing the thumbnail in the 10 seconds and so on you'll never do the thing that's truly you're known for and remembered for so finding that balance is tricky i get that but at the same time this might be my own copium which i know is a word you know now yeah i'm slowly learning the complexity of the term yes um but the other way i think about it is it is the skill to learn how to communicate with large audiences and first i started streaming chess which is something i just did and really loved but now i have to learn how to translate that format and if that's a skill set we could build then we could use it to do really important things and i've seen a lot of youtubers who have done interviews about how you know they didn't love the kind of content they did at at first but what they're doing right now is really meaningful so i like to think of it maybe like skill development because not everybody hits off podcasts where they can talk to super interesting people right off the bat yeah you can be slow and boring in a podcast you don't have to worry about the first 10 seconds i mean people like keep pushing me for because but the first 10 seconds of the videos i do is well i know it's most important for youtube but i don't give a damn i wrote a chrome extension that hides all the views and likes i don't look at the the the click i don't look at twitch views andrea does so we also can relate i love numbers too but that's why i don't look at it because you become like oh i you'll start to think that a conversation or a thing you did sucks because it doesn't get views yeah but that's just not the case the youtube algorithm is this monster that figures stuff out and if you let it control your mind i feel like it's going to destroy you creatively so you have to find a nice balance i have to say i was laughing a little bit when i was listening to the magnus episode and the first 10 minutes you guys are talking about soccer football two robots seem like humans yeah i was like let's have some fun a conversation about non-chess related topics yeah talk about sports yeah it was kind of hilarious i was surprised that uh even at his level i wasn't sure but i was surprised how much he loves chess it sounds cliche to say but like the way he looked at a chess board you know those memes like i wish somebody looked at me in the way he's still like the way he glanced down and he reached for the pieces with excitement to show me something there was there wasn't like uh okay i'll show you it was like like there was still that fire that's something that always shocks me about some of like super grand masters like one of my coaches was a person who also his name's jim hammer of norway he also coached magnus he was his second and he was helping me train for my tournament and i was kind of putting off doing the homework he's like if you're putting it off that means you're studying the wrong thing like you should be enjoying even when you're practicing which when i grew up i thought to get to the top level like practicing has to be hard and unpleasant and when i was listening to magnus episode he was like i didn't read books very much or it there's one thing that you said that's like very normal for studying classical chess that he didn't do just because it didn't interest him he says i suck at puzzles i don't like puzzles yeah and he doesn't do what he doesn't enjoy and that's because it's like purely driven out of passion i think the internet was like i suck at puzzles too yeah they like that i don't have to study at all it's just it's fun and uh but i think the lesson there that's really powerful is he spends most of the day thinking about chess because he wants to yeah so do whatever if you're into getting better chess to whatever it takes to actually just the number of hours you spend a day thinking about chess maximize that if you're like super serious about it i actually get very addicted whenever i start studying chess which is why i don't do it as seriously when i'm focused on content uh because i go through these rabbit holes where if i'm focusing on chess i want to be as good as i possibly can at the game otherwise it's hard for me to enjoy it because it's such a competitive thing and i remember training for tournaments and when you're training for tournaments you even start dreaming about chess and you can't stop thinking about it and it's as if you're flipped into this completely different world which is also what i like best about the game that it's a completely different living experience and then you take some drugs and now you start to see things on the ceiling is there some factual um hallucination like uh to the uh queen's gambit like those scenes uh i think it's is that based on your life story from well i can't say that on camera no just kidding um actually chess players are very careful to not take drugs they drink a lot yeah they drink so much it's actually crazy for how good they're able to play chess when they do but when it comes to things like psychedelics or other things they usually stay away from those because they don't want to mess anything up in their brain so this is actually an intervention i've i saw that you mentioned somewhere i think was the lie detector test where you have a drinking problem is that actual i think i think that's actually um a meme that we like to joke about on stream because occasionally we'd have like a white claw on stream or something like that and then people meme about it it goes back to andrea's point of amplifying a part of your personality to make yourself a little bit right more entertaining you could use that as an excuse from now on i'm just this podcast is just amplifying a part of that person now i'm not really like this uh but have you played drunk like magnus has played drunk he says it helps him with the creativity is there any truth to that well andrea is under 21 so she's obviously would never do it never do that um but i have played while drinking actually i enjoy playing jess chess and drinking more than pre-gaming or going out to a club and drinking which sounds really silly and i'll usually play against opponents who are also you know having some beer and it does make you feel like you're seeing the game from a fresher perspective where it can sometimes make you feel more confident liquid confidence and it does help with creativity you just feel like you could pull things off um but there's also a limit it's more like you've had one drink or two drink but then it goes beyond that and then you just start missing tactics and it's not worth it yeah i think it only helps players in very short time controls one time i was challenging this grandmaster on stream and we were playing bullet chess which is one minute chess and i was giving him handicaps and i said okay you have to take four shots before the next game and he just got like 10 times stronger and transformed into like the hulk and destroyed me more than the last game so but of course if you're playing like a three-hour game it's gonna get old but i think in short time controls it's amazing yeah it does definitely has to be blitz it has to be where it's more intuition rather than sitting in calculus this is probably like negatively affecting your ability to calculate absolutely how much when you guys play when you look at the chess board how much of it is calculation how much of it is intuition how much of it is memorized openings um it really depends between short form chess so five minutes three minutes one minute and classical chess what's your favorite to play i love playing blitz now because that's most of what i do and that's actually how i got into chess streaming because i couldn't spend entire weekends or weeks playing tournaments i would just while i was in college log on and play these long blitz or bullet sessions and it's very fast so you don't have time to go calculate as deeply you basically have to calculate short lines pretty quickly and a lot of it is pattern recognition and intuition um that's three minutes you said three minutes yeah okay cool and so for that it's just it's basically intuition a lot of it is intuition yeah see i saw on the streams you actually keep talking while playing chess it seems like yeah that's my result that doesn't help my results it doesn't help the content not the game yeah exactly but you can still do it because i i it feels like how can you possibly concentrate while talking it's because so much of it is intuition you're not while you're talking you're thinking about that topic but then you just come to the board and you just understand what you should be doing here and then sometimes you get in trouble because you're talking and you have now lost half of your time you have a minute and a half your opponent has three and you're kind of at a disadvantage um but that kind of goes to show that that's how blitz chess usually works whereas classical is very different which of you is better at chess i mean let's do it this way can you um andrea can you say what is in which way is alex stronger than you which way is she weaker than you not physically in in terms of the ch in terms of chess um well yes of course she is higher rated but when we do play um i think her strengths against me where she really gets me is the end game she has stronger end games so she can and i actually have a stronger opening um but as soon as she's i'm supposed to say what is good about you not you yeah i'm getting there well see this is the same because don't worry it's related okay because if i can i can get an advantage in the beginning of the game but as soon as she starts trading pieces down like my confidence drops because i know that the end game is the hardest part of the game and the longest and that's where she ends up beating me so her end game is her i think really what makes a difference and she sounds like her psychological warfare is better too because if you're getting nervous that is that but it's harder to play against higher rated players same how you know magnus and former world championship champions have that psychological edge so i think it's always going to be different for andrea because she knows statistically she should be winning something like one in four games but she usually does better than that because she's very distracting and talks a lot that does help what does it feel like to play a higher rated player what's the experience of that in like uh playing somebody like magnus so it depends on how much higher rated than you they are if it's someone who's like between me and andrea let's say it's a 200 point difference you know they should win but at least you still feel like you have a chance i was playing in uh title tuesday which is this tournament chess.com has every tuesday and i got really lucky beat a gm drew an international master and then i got paired against hikaru nakamura and my brain just went blank because the i just know that i'm so unlikely to win that i couldn't even play the game properly when it's that much of a difference where they should be winning like 99 of the time but that's like psychological so you're saying that's the biggest experience it's like actually knowing the numbers and statistically thinking there's no way i can win but i meant like is there a suffocating feeling like positionally you feel like you're constantly under attack you just feel like you're slowly getting outsmarted and the worst is when you don't even know what you're doing wrong you come out of that you're like i thought i was doing great and i got slowly squeezed i didn't understand what was going on and you're just kind of baffled it's kind of like watching alpha zero beat up stock fish and you don't really understand why it's making certain moves or how it thought of the plan you just see it slowly getting the position better and that's what it feels like i i would add it's kind of different for me if they're someone who's significantly higher rated so let's say more than like 300 points or you're playing magnus what i notice is i just feel lost straight as soon as i don't know my preparation because they know so many opening lines that they're going to know the best line to beat you that you haven't studied so then on move 10 you're like he already has a maybe plus .5 advantage which is really small but for someone with such a significant skill level you know you already lost at that point and it's like a third of the game what are the strengths and weaknesses of andrea andrea is very good at opening preparations as she said as she said she likes bringing that up i mean she's very meticulous about it where she'll really go in and learn her lines and having that initial starting confidence isn't just helpful for the opening but it helps develop your plans for the middle game so i think she's very good at that um i think she's actually pretty good at tactical combinations um what is tactics tactics is like solving puzzles um or basically finding lines that are forced where if you find them you're going to win so that's like puzzles within a with yeah exactly whereas strategic chess is making slow moves and over the process of like 20 moves you get a slightly better position based on an understanding of the overall strategy so in my extensive research review on wikipedia it says your most played opening is the king's indian defense in which quote black allows white to advance their pawns to the center of the board in the first two moves i is there any truth to this so the kings and what is it probably is my most played opening um and it's one where even when my coach who was a grandmaster taught me he's like so you know i've been playing the king's indian for 10 years and i still don't understand it and it's one of those openings that computers really don't like because you do or at least stockfish doesn't like it maybe alpha zero would change their mind i forgot to look at what can you show me by the way what it is yeah is it uh is it white's opening or black something black responds to uh the d4 queen's pawn push and you take your knight out to f6 i'll just put in the you know stereotypical classical king's indian more so to say um so we actually have a very famous king's indian game in the notes that we prepared okay for the record i asked you guys for one some games that you find pretty cool and well maybe to get a chance to talk about something yeah um so this is the king's indian as you can see white has much more control over the center white has three pawns in the center while black has none past the fifth rank and you just have this pawn on d6 and one of the ideas in chess is if you're not taking the center then your plan revolves around trying to continually challenge it but what is really fun about the king's indian is that black sometimes gets these crazy king side attacks while white gets queen side attacks and even though it's a little bit suspicious for black and the computer could usually break it it's hard to defend as a human when you're being attacked but if you don't pull off the attack as black then you're just gonna end up being lost in the end game so it's like a very asymmetrical position it's very asymmetrical although a lot of people now stop playing into the classical kings indian even though computers give it a big advantage and they play these slower lines in the king's indian which are less fun to play what's slower mean it takes a longer time to like do something interesting with um they basically don't let you get as much of a kingside attack because they try opening up the center and then you have no weaknesses but you're just slowly improving the position of your pieces instead of being able to go for that king side attack so for people just listening there is a the white pawns are all on the fourth row in a row together that feels like a bad position for black for white oh you don't like taking the center no i like taking the center so this is now you're talking trash around oh sorry but like they're just like they're like feel vulnerable they're in a row together like it's like uh like a you know because they're like who's gonna defend them i guess the nice defender when the queen defends it that you're actually talking about a theme that you do see sometimes which is called hanging pawns when you have two pawns right next to each other with no other pawns to defend them yeah um so it it is a value valid point and actually as black you're trying to break apart these pawns or get them to push and create some holes into the position but it's a trade-off and that's a lot of what chess openings are about you get more space but you'll also end up having to protect your pawns potentially or move them forward to the point where they're overextended and plus pawns being vulnerable it's kind of fun this it's like there's more stuff in danger they're not because if it's if it's like this everything's like trapped like you can't do anything everything's blocked yeah blocked off yeah because you can't have fun yeah the the one of the most one of the opening principles for white is get your pawns in the center so i'd say like this is actually preferable for white go let's go over some opening principles there we go because this is a very good learning okay in the audience okay so first thing you want to do is control the center there you go e4 the more aggressive one isn't that like the the basic vanilla move i didn't uh somebody told me that's the most popular opening move in chess it is why is that considered aggressive so the two it's e4 and d4 and the king's pawn is known as being for more tactical players whereas d4 is known for more positional players so that's why it's considered more aggressive gambits with e4 i think so tactical means i'm i'm gonna try to attack you you're gonna try to go for puzzles and rely more on your um combination abilities uh whereas if it's something positional you usually have like three to four moves that are all good in the position whereas tactics you need to see this one line so it's more precise so this this one's cool because he can like you know the queen can come out the bishop can come out yeah and that's uh one of the most popular checkmates and usually what you teach new students to try to cheese their friends because then they feel really excited that they know this new trap where you bring the bishop and the queen out and you try to check mate on f7 yeah it's the trap that uh queen's gambit beth harmon falls for nerf like first game versus the janitor she gets all mad because she gets checkmated very early that's the one she gets checkmated with yeah okay i love how you guys were actually paying attention to the games carefully uh which is pretty cool that they did a good job of improving evolving her game throughout the show to actually represent an actual growth of a chess player yeah they they really took every detail into consideration which was cool okay so what what else that's that's i brought stuff okay so then you want to develop your pieces so in the beginning of the game you want to take out the bishops and knights first because you don't want to start with the most valuable piece like the queen because then it'll become a vulnerability and it'll get attacked very early on and the reason you're taking up these two pieces first is because you want to castle your king so you can move a night move or a bishop move and that's considered developing yeah so if at this stage not like even before getting a few pawns out you usually want to start with getting a pawn because you want to get space in the center but also when you push pawns it helps free up some of your pieces um so usually start with one pawn first and then you can start taking out your minor pieces which is the bishop in the night i have anxiety about a pawn just floating out there defenseless but i'm not attacked yet it's a see those are what you call ghost threats so you're scared of something that hasn't happened yet so if i were to attack it i feel like there's a deeper thing going on here actually let's say yes so you're attacking the pawn in the center here and it is vulnerable but as soon as you do that i can develop my own knight and defend it as well okay and now for people just listening there's two pawns that just came out to meet each other and a couple of nights we love the chess card the pawns met after midnight yeah yeah i'm gonna romanticize the game a bit exactly uh okay cool so so like there's uh if you bring out the bishops with the knights you're matching that with the other uh the black is going to match it whatever you're attacking with yeah can't defend it i could develop your bishop or your knight whatever you'd like oh no now you gave him options oh right yeah there you go now i am attacking the pawn in the center which is what you were afraid about before but let's see how you defend it here by doing this symmetrical thing bringing out the knight on the other side and actually your other move was good as well defending with the pawn because then you're freeing up space for your bishop so you're basically trying to develop your pieces as quickly as possible put your pawns in the center and then get your king to safety and that's usually the basic opening tips that you get it is kind of counterintuitive that safety is in the corner of the board for kings that was always confusing to me but you know three pawns in front though you typically don't push those maybe like one maybe i'll go one square but these are will be like the wall of defense that keep them safe but another way to also think about it is um your pieces usually want to point towards the center if you have a knight closer to the center then closer to the side it actually has more squares it can go to so a huge part of it is just wanting to have flexibility for where your pieces go so more pieces are going to be able to make threats in the center or even open up the position so since that's where it's most likely to open you want your king somewhere where the position will stay closed so that you have the pawns to defend you know there is like rules like this but i always wonder because i build chess engines but then you start to wonder like why is it that positionally these things are good like you've built up an intuition about it but i wish and that's the thing that would be amazing if engines could explain why is this kind of thing better than this kind of thing you start to build up an intuition but if i'm just like know nothing about chess it feels confusing that cornering your king like getting them uh like trapped here like it feels like you could get check made it easier there if i was just using like dumb intuition but it seems like that's not the case i imagine maybe because alpha zero learned by playing games against itself right yeah and i imagine if you have a lot of games then you do build intuition because if you were to keep your king in the center you just see that in those games you're dealing with threats a lot more often um but yeah they're shortcut rules and this doesn't even mean it's the best way to play chess as we've seen with alpha zero kind of changing the rules of the game a little bit but as a human to learn it from scratch is a lot more difficult than to start with principles so that's why beginners usually learn chess this way yeah but because you're playing other humans and the other humans have also operated under different principles and that's why people that come up now that are training with engines are just going to be much better at than the people of the past because they're going to have they're going to try out weirder ideas that go against the principles of old right and they're gonna do like weird stuff including sacrifices and stuff like that yeah and i also think that's why alpha zero was so shocking because stockfish was using an opening database so it was already based off of knowledge that humans have from playing chess for years that we just thought is how you're supposed to play whereas alpha zero just learned from playing the game so many times and came up with very novel opening ideas were you impressed by alpha have you have you seen some of the games i have seen some of the games i think impressed bewildered and uh motivated were the three things i experienced i think magnus said uh he was also impressed that it could easily be mistaken for creativity that's this trash talk towards the ai that was a beautiful sentence i i was listening to the podcast i mean as a human i agree with him because you don't want to give the machine the the power of creativity but if it looks creative get give it give it a compliment that's that's fair i know that you're being nice to the machines in case they are ever looking back through this what else is there what other principles are there for the um the opening you can go a little bit more forward let's say and yeah we can finish full of development positions like this let's just say you developed all of your pieces um so that's like a really nice like nobody nobody took any pieces and we're just in a nice positional thing yeah so it's not actually a very accurate yes i could put a different one on the board but usually after you've developed all of your pieces um you want to get your queen out a little bit to connect your rooks and you also start thinking about certain pawn pushes and getting more space but another good tip is just can you improve the position of your pieces think about timing so if you've already moved a piece once and there's a piece that hasn't moved at all then you want to focus on the piece that hasn't moved at all to be able to have it more likely to jump into the game right so don't move pieces multiple times exactly like try to move it to the most optimal position yeah yeah that makes sense what uh so what's the indian so i think we kind of went over it but why did you ever say why you like it so much because that's weird because it's king-sized i liked it because it's a very fun aggressive defense where you're just throwing your pieces towards white and there's so many sacrificing opportunities and for some reason tactical games always feel like the most beautiful the most satisfying and that's what i liked about the king's indian but i also suffered a lot from this this love because i would play things that are not necessarily correct then my attack wouldn't pan out and i would just struggle the rest of the game having no play and just trying to defend so if you're always a wikipedia also says that that you're known for your attacking play it's also known for losses according to stanford okay let's not bring see wikipedia doesn't talk trash a lot nicer um i actually played a lot of positional chess in classic because i really like the slow squeeze but when i transition to playing a lot of online chess it's almost as if i was looking for more instant gratification because it feels so much better to beat someone with an attack and even if sometimes it doesn't pan out i was okay with it because you get so many games in so i think my style in online chess really changed for my classical chess what about you andrea do you have a style are you attacking are you uh more like conservative defensive player are you chaotic opening wise i like to play more positionally like i like to push d4 and just slowly improve my pieces and slowly get an attack but like alex said if you're playing bullet chess or blitz against viewers you often like wanna play riskier moves that may not be as good and then that's kind of when i would play more aggressive but i do enjoy tournaments for that reason because then like once her 15 moves in which as soon as you're out of your prep i like sitting and thinking in more positional um yeah positional middle games one of the games you found to be pretty cool is the uh hakara nakamura versus golf on in 2009. and that one i think includes the king's indian defense yes um what's what's why is that an interesting one to you i also played the king's indian as black and i loved this model game but and as alex was saying like all these advantages for the king's indian but now there's this one line that like every higher rated player just destroys my king's indian and you see these beautiful games they're like oh yes i want to play for these ideas but now no one plays into it anymore and you just get demolished so this is why i don't play the kings indeed anymore but not to ruin the fun right the love hate relationship truly the reality but that's like the higher level players do or does everybody yeah if you're studying openings and you know this line as white you just you automatically get the upper edge and that's kind of how openings develop you start having players trying new lines and then you see ones and then everybody adopts it if they think it's the best one but yeah so hikaru is really known for his aggressive style of play black hero yeah hikaru is black here so he's playing the king's indian and as you can see in this position white already has a lot a huge center advantage but what hikaru is going to start doing even with the next move is bringing all of his pieces towards the white king side because his plan is to start pushing his pawns towards the white king and this ignore the attacks that's a great example of a dream attack with the king's indian so there's a complete asymmetry towards the king side on the left side of the board is a ton of pieces yeah exactly um wow he moved the night like three times in a row and that's wh
Resume
Categories